top of page
Forest Scene

Scholarship Resources

The Klukwan Educational Trust is a resource for beneficiaries. Our goal is to provide beneficiaries with valuable and meaningful connections to resources to continue building workforce capacity.

ACPE logo copy.png

The Alaska Performance Scholarship provides an opportunity for Alaska high school students to earn a scholarship to help cover the cost of an Alaska postsecondary education. Alaska high school students who take a more rigorous curriculum, get good grades, and score well on college placement or work-ready exams, can earn an Alaska Performance Scholarship to qualified Alaska colleges, universities, or vocational/technical programs.


Sealaska awards hundreds of full-time and part-time merit-based scholarships each year. To date, approximately 11,000 scholarships totaling $20 million have been awarded. To qualify, individuals must meet the following criteria:

  • Alaska Native as defined as "Native" under the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act 43 U.S.C. 1602(b).

  • Enrolled to Sealaska Corporation, OR are Native lineal descendants of Alaska Natives enrolled to Sealaska Corporation whether the applicant owns Sealaska Corporation stock or not.

  • Have a GPA of 2.0 for undergraduate, and 3.0 for graduate.

  • Accepted and enrolled in an accredited post-secondary educational institution.

Tlingit copy.png

The College Student Assistance (CSA) program provides financial aid to tribally enrolled citizens within the Central Council of Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska’s (Tlingit & Haida) Compact Service area who are attending or plan to attend an accredited college or university in the pursuit of an Associate’s degree or higher. CSA funds full and part-time students (minimum part-time attendance is six credit hours per term). Provisions are also available for students with a documented disability. 


CSA funding level is based on a Compact Service Agreement between Tlingit & Haida and Southeast Alaska IRA tribes. Tribal citizens who reside in, originate from, and/or are enrolled with one of the following communities are eligible to apply: Haines, Juneau, Kasaan, Pelican, Saxman, and Tenakee. Individuals who originate from a Compact Service area, but live outside of Southeast Alaska are also eligible to apply; however, funding is awarded on a “funds available” basis. Tribal citizens who reside in, originate from, and/or are enrolled with one of the following communities must apply for CSA funding through their local IRA tribe: Angoon, Craig, Douglas, Hoonah, Hydaburg, Kake, Ketchikan, Klukwan, Metlakatla, Petersburg, Sitka, Skagway, Wrangell or Yakutat.

bottom of page